Posted by: gatheringwater | 2009/04/25

Mystery Bird

img_1240 I believe this bird is a sanderling, but I’m not entirely sure.  The last sanderling identified to me had differently patterned plumage. Perhaps some real “twitchers” will straighten me out…

Although this bird was photographed alone, he was really part of a flock. The rest of the birds were hiding among old pilings, but this was the point bird who made loud calls as I approached. As you can see from the fuzzy photograph, he didn’t let me get very far before sounding the alarm and leading the other birds–in tight formation and flying low over the water–away to safety.

Responses

  1. It is a black-bellied plover.


Leave a Reply

Categories

