Posted by: gatheringwater | 2009/03/24

Handmade Bumper Sticker

tancook-whaler-detail

I spotted this unusual sign on the back of a bicycle parked outside the excellent Port Townsend library (highest per capita use for its size in the state). Since it was on a bicycle and not adhesive, I’m not sure I can call it a bumper sticker, but you get the idea.

I wasn’t entirely sure what features differentiated a Tancook Whaler from other kinds of boats. The Port Townsend library has an excellent maritime collection and I soon learned how to recognize one the next time I saw it. WoodenBoat magazine also had an interesting article about a particular Tancook Whaler and the man who built it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

