Posted by: gatheringwater | 2009/03/12

Spring is Coming

an unusual winter is nearing its end

an unusual winter is nearing its end

I can’t remember a winter in Port Townsend with so much snow over such an extended period. Which still isn’t a lot, just more than I’ve grown accustomed to. Our first snow was in November and our last (I hope) in March. In the middle, we had an extended freeze. I remember that snow in particular, since I managed to get my car stuck while visiting a client in Chimicum and only escaped with the help of a friendly neighbor and his sturdy 1953 Massey tractor. Usually we get a little decorative snow that melts in a day or two. Now, it is still cold enough for last week’s snow to survive in shady spots.

I couldn’t wait for spring, so I forced some bulbs for cheerful color and fragrance in the winter. Or tried to. What I actually grew were a few pots that looked like they’d been planted with chives and a few stunted crocuses and irises. Next year, I’m sticking to paperwhites. I had better luck with forsythia, pictured above.  There are plenty of bulbs starting to bloom at Chetzemoka Park, despite the lingering snow. Before spring starts in earnest, here are a few last pictures of winter.

these lavender crocuses are minutely striped

these lavender crocuses are minutely striped

hardy primroses aren't bothered by a little snow

hardy primroses aren't bothered by a little snow

willow catkins are already yellow with pollen

willow catkins are already yellow with pollen

Leave a Reply

Categories

