Posted by: gatheringwater | 2009/02/26

Golden Hour

Late afternoon is a good time to look for rainbows in Port Townsend.

Late afternoon is a good time to look for rainbows in Port Townsend.

“Where’s Port Townsend?” I’m not offended by the question. I live in a very small town, after all. So I say it is north of Seattle, on the fascinating Olympic Peninsula, with an unusual variety of climate zones and…this is when I’m often interrupted. “Seattle. All that rain. And clouds. I couldn’t live there.” That’s when I realize I’m glad they couldn’t live there, either. I don’t bother to explain that Seattle is cloudy, but not particularly rainy and I certainly don’t say that Port Townsend is much sunnier than Seattle. We’ve got enough silly people here already.

Even on cloudy days, Port Townsend often has a “golden hour” when the sun is low enough in the sky to shine under the clouds but still high enough not to be blocked by the mountains. This is when everything gray turns suddenly golden and when you might also see a sunset rainbow.

Leave a Reply

Categories

